In Arkansas, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is considered a DUI. Even if you only drive ten mph over the speed limit, you can be charged with a DUI/DWI. Driving under the influence of marijuana is also an offense in Arkansas. If you are found guilty of this charge, your driver’s license will be revoked, and you could face jail time and a fine. Driving while intoxicated by alcohol or drugs on multiple occasions eventually is charged as a felony in Arkansas and could result in up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
What is a DUI in Arkansas?
DUI/DWI in Arkansas is a criminal offense that involves driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. This means that you are driving while impaired and can face serious legal consequences. In Arkansas, a DUI is defined as having any level of alcohol in your system. For example, driving with a .08% or higher blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is considered a DUI in Arkansas.
Chemical intoxication, which refers to being under the influence of drugs other than alcohol, is illegal in Arkansas and can lead to a DUI conviction. Driving with a BAC above .15% can result in jail time and fines driving on the road or a boat on the water.
What are the penalties for a DUI in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, a DUI can result in severe penalties, including fines, jail time, and license suspensions. These are the penalties that the court can assign for DUI/DWI in Arkansas:
- First offense, 24 hours to 1-year maximum, with a maximum fine of $1000.
- Second-time offense, seven days to one year maximum, with a maximum fine of $3000. (within five years of prior offense)
- Third offense, 90 days to one year maximum, with a maximum fine of $5000. (within five years of previous violation)
- Fourth offense, up to six years, and a maximum fine of $5000.
- The fifth offense is two to 10 years in jail and a maximum fine of $5000.
Penalties can be severe
The penalties for a first DUI can be especially severe, with a driver facing up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine. A second DUI offense carries even harsher consequences, including a year in prison and a $3,000 fine. In addition to these criminal penalties, a driver convicted of DUI will also have their driving privileges revoked. The court might assign community service in lieu of jail time.